The Australian Antarctic Division is part of the Australian Government’s Department of Agriculture, Water and the Environment.

The Division, based in Kingston, Tasmania, leads and coordinates and delivers the Australian Antarctic Program.

Due to COVID-19 restrictions, the site is closed to the public until further notice.

All Australian Antarctic expeditioners are trained and equipped at the Division before heading south to Antarctica or sub-Antarctic Macquarie Island.

There are 300 full time staff at the Division undertaking operational, medical, science, policy and support functions.