Commonwealth Bay was Australia’s gateway to Antarctica.

In 1912, Douglas Mawson established the headquarters of the Australasian Antarctic Expedition (AAE) at Commonwealth Bay.

The wooden buildings — where the 18 members of the Cape Denison party lived for up to two years — still stand today. The ferocity of the weather has taken its toll. The Australian Government provides grants to assist in the maintenance of these structures.